Final Reflections

My work has arrived at OCA in Barnsley for March assessment so there is nothing more I can do but keep my fingers crossed for a good mark πŸ™‚

When I had to choose my 3rd level one module it was a toss up between Printmaking and Western Art. I’m so glad I chose this module, I can always learn Printmaking later.

Unfortunately I have had long periods of ill health while studying this module so I’ve been unable to make the required visits in person and I’ve not been able to do any of the suggested reading either which I will probably lose some marks on. Central library were I could have got books from only reopened in May after renovation and when it was open again I wasn’t able to visit because of my continued illness.

I’ve always had an interest in art but I’ve learnt such a lot over the past year. My attitude to some art movements have completely changed but I still find most contemporary art unfathomable. At one time I would have said I didn’t like Cubism but I do now. Not all of it but I’m already starting to think of ways that I could use certain aspects of it in my Textile work in future.

I need to read more to expand my knowledge of various artists and art movements. There is also no substitute for seeing works of art in person either. No matter how good the reproduction in books or postcards or on websites you can’t judge size, colour, brushstrokes or texture.

I left school with only CSE’s I failed my O’level Art (my best subject) and English so I came to this module with no experience of academic writing of any sort let alone at this level. As my tutor has pointed out:-

Remember that the longer pieces, e.g. reports and extended analyses, are formal academic exercises and the writing style for these should be appropriately formal. I think your writing style is sometimes too informal in these projects.

I know that this is something I will have to improve on as I progress to level 2 and especially level 3 if I want to get a degree in Textiles. As my Mum would have said I need to write as if I’d eaten dictionary pie for tea πŸ™‚

Art history is a subject that you are learning about all the time.

Overall though I’m pleased with the work I’ve done despite the setbacks.

Leave a Reply

