Elizabeth I portrait

For the exercise on Portraits I chose to Annotate a portrait of Queen Elizabeth I that is in the Walker Art Gallery collection so I was interested to watch a programme on TV last night about a recently discovered portrait of her in later life.  The idea behind the American programme called ‘Treasure Detectives’ is to find out if an art work is real or fake.  There had been some coverage in UK newspapers earlier this year Telegraph, Telegraph, Guardian and the Daily Mail.

The painting is owned by the Elizabethan Gardens in Roanoke Island, North Carolina.  During my research on Queen Elizabeth I I discovered that  ‘As she grew older her image was tightly controlled and in 1596 an official proclamation ordered that any ‘unseemly’ portraits were to be destroyed’ so I was sure that this painting was going to be a fake but it appears that it is real, produced by the studio of Gheeraerts in the early-mid 1590s

Leave a Reply

