British Masters

I spent this afternoon watching the two episodes of British Masters presented by Art Historian James Fox on BBC4 that I had taped.  It introduced me to a few artists that I had never heard of so while watching I was also looking them up on the internet.  This showed me that I shouldn’t take everything that I read online as true, especially from Wikpedia.  Some examples of the incorrect facts on a couple of the artists in the programme:-

  • Stanley Spencer – Wikpedia says his 2nd wife refused to consummate their marriage but according to James Fox he was impotent.
  • Christopher R. W. Nevinson – Wikpedia says he was invalided home from WWI because of ill health but James Fox says he found his way back to Britain of his own accord.
Leave a Reply

