Research Point: Abstract sculptors

Find out more about one or more abstract sculptors working after 1950.  You might decide to look at the work of a household name, like Henry Moore, Barbara Hepworth or Robert Morris, but there are plenty more to choose from – Alexander Calder, Christopher Le Brun, Eduoardo Paolozzi, David Smith, Hans Arp, Andy Goldsworthy, Anthony Caro and Louse Nevelson and more.

I was familiar with the works of i.e. Henry Moore, Barbara Hepworth and Anthony Caro but I had to Google the rest.  None of them caught my eye until I saw the work of Andy Goldsworthy.  Perhaps it is because I am  studying for a degree in Textiles but I was immediately drawn to the textural quality of his sculptors so I’ve chose to find out more about him and his work.

Andy Goldsworthy was born in Cheshire in 1956 and now lives in the village of Penpont, Dumfriesshire,in Scotland.

Some of his works add an extra dimension to the landscapes that they are in but on another level some of them blend in and become part of it.  Many of his sculptures are ephemeral in nature so he takes photographs of them so he has a record of them before they disappear.

I particularly like this piece made from Sweet Chestnut leaves and thorns as I can see it being a sculpture in textiles as well as the materials Andy has used.

artwork_images_424058108_734011_andy-goldsworthy(c) Andy Goldsworthy

http://www.artnet.com/

If you put his name in to YouTube you can find dozens of videos on him, below are just a few that I found most useful and interesting.

I can see myself looking at more of his work when I go on to Level 2 modules for my Textiles degree later this year.

References:-

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Andy_Goldsworthy

http://www.ucblueash.edu/artcomm/web/w2005_2006/maria_Goldsworthy/biography.html

Leave a Reply

