Exercise: Exploring Modern Art Part 2

I don’t understand a lot of Modern Art and some of it just leaves me cold like Surrealism so I’ve surprised myself that for some reason I quite like Cubism Perhaps as I do more research I will find out why I am drawn to this art movement and not to other Modern Art movements.

Cubism began in 1908, developed between Pablo Picasso and Georges Bracques and although it was a short lived art movement lasting until 1912 it was the start of a creative explosion that was too have a lasting effect throughout 20th century art.

Western society was witnessing more change in the early 20th century than had taken place in the previous 400 years and Cubism was the first abstract style of art in response to these changes.

A cubist painting shows multiple views of a subject instead of the traditional perspective that had been in place since the Renaissance.

Picasso is supposed to have said ‘There is no such thing as abstract art’ – ‘You must always start with something’

Picasso and Braque worked so closely together that in 1911 their works couldn’t be distinguished apart and they admitted themselves that they weren’t sure who had painted which.

There were two phases of Cubism

  • Analytical – were the artist analyzed his subject from various viewpoints and reconstructed it in geometric form which overall effect evoked a sense of the subject.
  • Synthetic – by 1912 Picasso and Bracques work was becoming so predictable that their work from this period is hard to tell apart.  Picasso began to glue images on top of his paintings thereby introducing ‘collage’ into painting.

I had a go at a few cubist style drawings when I did Drawing 1 with OCA back in 2005.  I’m not sure that this can be classed as cubist in the real sense of the meaning of cubism so I’ll do some drawings in my sketchbook.  I also put this in my logbook at the time but I’ve converted it to a PDF to put here Cubism


Cubist-Study(c) Susan Devonport

References:-

http://www.artyfactory.com/art_appreciation/art_movements/cubism.htm

http://emptyeasel.com/2007/10/17/what-is-cubism-an-introduction-to-the-cubist-art-movement-and-cubist-painters/

http://www.arthistoryarchive.com/arthistory/cubism/

Leave a Reply

