Getting behind……

I’ve not been too well over the past few weeks with stomach trouble.  I may have gallstones Yuk!!!!  Anyway I’ve managed to do some reading of the set text.

I’ve always had an interest in art and I know it is a cliche but I know what I like and don’t like.  I’m starting to look at art works in more depth and trying to understand them.  For instance I’ve seen Leonardo da Vinci’s ‘Last Supper’ (unfortunately not in person) but many times in print or on Tv but it wasn’t until I was reading p.465 ……..

“Instead of depicting the disciples in an undifferentiated line, he gathered them in threes, creating a network of formal and emotional connections binding each figure to his neighbours and to Christ in the centre”.

Última_Cena_-_Da_Vinci_5http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:%C3%9Altima_Cena_-_Da_Vinci_5.jpg

I looked again with fresh eyes and it is so obvious now it has been pointed out to me, why didn’t I see it before.    I feel as if I have been looking at art works in the past through fogged up glasses and not really been looking at them properly.

Leave a Reply

