John Moores revisited…….

… I joined up with 2 fellow OCA students back in September to go round the John Moores 2012.   Barbara and I got to see a large proportion of the paintings and it was so good to be able to discuss all the works with someone else.  After lunch when Patricia met up with us we went to a talk given by George Shaw one of the judges.  It was an interesting talk but I thought that he would have told us more about the process of judging.  Afterwards we went for a coffee and we spent so much time gabbing that there wasn’t time to go back to the exhibition so I went back on Friday 20th October by myself to see the rest.

An online gallery of the works on view can be seen here.  I have to be honest here and say that I wouldn’t go overboard about any of the paintings on display. This one immediately reminded me of a patchwork quilt.  I’d like to have been a fly on the wall when the judging panel where deliberating because I do not understand the thinking behind most contemporary art.

Leave a Reply

